Author Topic: "Lets Off Road!"  (Read 498 times)

timbo

"Lets Off Road!"
« on: August 23, 2019, 10:41:08 AM »
Well, after years of thinking about it, and procrastinating, I have finally took the plunge, and booked a full days course at the Yamaha Off Road School in mid Wales, as I have no off road experience, and want to take the Himilaya on a few trails, maybe even the TET in the UK and Europe. Also, has anyone any experience of the TRF, as there's a local group in my area  :)
Namaste

rockfogey

Re: "Lets Off Road!"
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2019, 10:56:38 AM »
Hi Tim,
I joined the TRF last month.  Shropshire meet 3rd Thursday of the month Gaskell arms Much Wenlock. I have not yet attended a meeting or taken a ride with them.  I am waiting for my carb to come back from Allen's where it is getting a service. I have been in contact with Mike, one of the branch organisers, he runs mid week rides and someone else does weekend rides.
I'm thinking of getting some training at one of the  schools, haven't decided which one yet. let me know how your's turns out.

timbo

« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2019, 04:40:31 PM »
What a coincidence Mart. I only contacted Mike this very week, to find out where they meet up, and as you say, its the Gaskell Arms in Much Wenlock, so I think I may well call up there next month. just have to persuade Rossco500 to sell/lend me his Serow  ;D
Namaste

CrazyFrog

« Reply #3 on: August 23, 2019, 06:07:55 PM »
As I've probably said before, I did a weekend trail riding with the TRF a couple of years ago on Salisbury plain. I was on my Dr350 and was the only one out of about 50 who rode my bike to the event! The TRF guys seemed a decent bunch, mist serious riders running Serrows or CRFs. There was a 'nutty' element who thundered around at 60mph plus off road on big KTMs and similar. All had tales to tell of broken bones and other injuries.

All in all a great weekend with a good bunch, but I decided off road wasn't really for me.