Author Topic: Yamaha SRX400/600 size  (Read 503 times)

Stuebydoo

Yamaha SRX400/600 size
« on: May 22, 2018, 12:54:18 PM »
Hi guys,

Wondering if anyone can give me a bit of advice about this.

I'm 6ft3, however I have a desire to have a SRX. I believe the seat height is 30"? Is this going to be too small for me?

I've seen a nice SRX400 for sale, but it's the other end of the country so viewing before buying might not be too easy. I'm also an inexperienced rider so looking more at the 400-600cc range of bikes, don't want anything too scary to start out with.

CrazyFrog

Re: Yamaha SRX400/600 size
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2018, 01:40:19 PM »
Hi and welcome.  :D

I've no experience of the SRX range myself, however, this site is useful if you haven't seen it before.

http://cycle-ergo.com/
2023 Royal Enfield Meteor 350
2021 Honda CB125F

Stuebydoo

« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2018, 04:23:44 PM »
That's a great website thank you. It makes me feel a bit more comfortable with that compared to other bikes I have owned or sat on.

themoudie

« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2018, 12:11:12 PM »
Aye Stuebydoo,

Welcome to the forum.

I've ridden an SRX 600 for the best part of 16 years now. Current machine (Sally) has McCrane footrests that are set further back and higher than the standard footrest position and standard clip-on bars mounted on the stanchions above the top yoke. I'm 6'2" in socks and weigh in at ~13½stone. However, I was up to nearly 15 stone at one point and still fitted fine. There is no size difference between the 400 and 600 twin shock model frames. However, there are different wheel diameters that do affect the seat height. I am renovating a butchered SRX Monoshock 400, with XT600E motor fitted at present and this has 17" diameter wheels front and back and also a different frame and ride height. Again there is no difference in the frame/seat/bars relationship between the 400 and 600 monoshock models.