Author Topic: 1985 Honda XBR carb help  (Read 1524 times)

Olof.he

1985 Honda XBR carb help
« on: November 17, 2009, 07:46:43 PM »
Pictures at http://www.flickr.com/photos/44487296@N05/

2 years of MC-license and 2 years with my XBR
At the end of this year I got problems with my carburetor, if I left the petcock on it would start to drip and keep dripping from the carburetor bottom, and the bike was beginning to have trouble starting, might be cause of the cold too tho. The shop that I bought the bike said it was probably cause of junk in the carb, and said it would cost around 225 euros to fix, so I decided to have my first go myself, 225 euros is like 3 workdays for me, and right now, I don't even have workdays, (not enough anyway) I'm a real beginner but removing the carb was pretty straight forward.
The outside of the carb was dirty as hell, but when I opened it, the inside looked very neat and clean
Ive looked through the jets, and none are clogged.
I cleaned the bowl, the jets in boiling water and the outside of the carb with boiling water, and now everything looks clean(er...).
When I removed the pilot screw the spring bounced away, I managed to find it plus one ring, but bow when I checked the manual, its supposed to be three things?(se picture) I only have two, does that mean I am fucked? Also, the needle holder, nr 10 in the picture, there was none attatched to the main jet holder? Or where is it supposed to be?

And now that I've removed the things holding the jets, when I put them back, do I just screw them all the way in or is it like the pilot mixture screw, that has to be at an OK setting and then you adjust it?

Thankful for any help.

Mark

Re: 1985 Honda XBR carb help
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2009, 08:34:50 PM »
I think the needle holder item 10 will be still in the carb body where the main jet holder fits, I don't think it comes out to readily.