Author Topic: XBR 500 turns off when it warms up.  (Read 475 times)

Cristóbal

XBR 500 turns off when it warms up.
« on: September 19, 2023, 08:24:48 PM »
Hello everyone. I am fixing an 87 xbr that has been sitting for several years, it is my first time working on a motorcycle and I am very excited about it.

As I mentioned in the title, when the motorcycle heats up, it suddenly turns off. If I leave it at idle it runs great at 1100 - 1200 rpm but if I accelerate it to high revs it stops suddenly an after that it won't idle anymore. All this while the motorcycle is resting on the central leg without moving because I am deoxidizing the fuel tank. 

At the moment I have adjusted:
- valves (and stroke cable).
- changed the motor oil and the filter.
- Air filter.
- New spark plug.
- Front caliper rebuild and rear brake pads.
- Front fork suspension rebuild (fork seals and oil).
- I did a manual cleaning of the carburetor, the jets looked good.
- And a lot of deoxidizing...

Any help will be greatly appreciated because I'm a little lost and after so much work I'm starting to get very frustrated.

Thank you very much.

C.

themoudie

Re: XBR 500 turns off when it warms up.
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2023, 09:11:07 PM »
Aye Cristobal, welcome to the forum.

I have never had, or worked on an XBR, but there are many on here who have, so hopefully they will be able to help.

From your decsription the fault sounds very similar to one that I have been having with a Moto Morini 125H. The engine readily starts and will tick over between 1,100 - 1,200 rpm for a long time. BUT, if you try to increase the engine speed (revs) above 2,000 - 2,500 rpm when the ignition would start to advance, there is a lot of stuttering and then the engine cuts out. With my Morini this is being caused by the ignition not being advanced by the CDI, from the trigger coil signal. Spares are unobtainable for the Morini, but this is not the case for the XBR, so far as I am aware.